B18a1 Turbo experts ONLY!!

Liljmart13

Jacob
I have a bunch of questions. Is this motor even worth turboing? Is it worth the Time and effort or should I just swap in a new motor that will be a better motor to turbo. I want to be able to run 18 psi and 12 psi daily. Is that possible? This is not my daily driver so time/money arnt an issue but remember I'm a college student and have only a part time job lol. I ONLY WANT PEOPLE WHO KNOW(OR HAVE ALREADY DONE THIS) WHAT THERE DOING!

Tam4511

CI BOOST FIEND
1: That motor is the best B-series motor to boost because it has the lowest compression ratio.
2: psi doesnt mean anything, its all in the size of the turbo. A t3/t4 is the most popular turbo to put on stock motors. If you got a .50-.60 trim, then roughly 12psi would put you around the 300hp mark which is the limit for a stock b18b1/a1.

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'
Best thing to do would be to do a compression and leakdown on the motor and see if its healthy or not. Personally i would get Arp rod bolts and main studs and head studs to keep everything nice and tidy down in the block and then make sure you save some money for a dyno tune, those arp bolts will help you if you begin to rev past 7500rpms.

Tam4511

CI BOOST FIEND
Yeah deffinately, let us know what parts your gonna buy before you buy em.

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'
either way i suggest a obd1 ecu and a hondata S300 for turbo tuning, it has more FI options than the s100

Prozon

Kris
I am far from an expert but I feel I need to throw a couple things your way.

The B18A1/B18B1 are both probably the best for boosting. The B1 has a better flowing head, from what I can tell.. but the compression in both are the same. 9.2:1