Blowing smoke @ vtec

natron84

I can usually figure out whats going on with my cars, and im not unfamiliar with integras, ive had 5. But i am new to 3rd gens and vtec, so i need help. My compression is fine, head gasket is good too, but my car blows smoke everytime i hit vtec. There is also smoke when its first started, until it warms up.
so im thinkin valve seals????
any ideas???:2confused

eiznekeM

I think if it was a valve seal you'd see weeping. Might be your piston rings. Check your valve guides too. Are you losing oil when you check it?

DaddyBuiltRacing

Resident Asshole
Most likely its your valve stem seals. More times then not people are quick to say "its your rings" only to find out it was valve stem seals that went bad. If your compression check came back normal then that kinda eliminates the whole bad ring theory. Valve stem seals are cheap to replace

Alvi84

Do you smoke when accelerating or smoke when decelleratin? Also, what were your compression numbers? If you have carbon build up on your vavles you could throw higher numbers.

natron84

Most likely its your valve stem seals. More times then not people are quick to say "its your rings" only to find out it was valve stem seals that went bad. If your compression check came back normal then that kinda eliminates the whole bad ring theory. Valve stem seals are cheap to replace
Yeah...thats what i thought.
Do you smoke when accelerating or smoke when decelleratin? Also, what were your compression numbers? If you have carbon build up on your vavles you could throw higher numbers.
not sure on the numbers, i had my stepdad run it for me, I'll ask him when i get the chance. Smoke is mainly on medium to heavy acceleration, but really noticeable after vtec.

also I have some oil leaking from my valve cover but i thought it was just the gasket, since it only leaks from one side. Could that be the "weeping" referred to earlier?

eiznekeM

:retard: what do you mean by weeping.
Yeah...thats what i thought.