Noob here, looking for some answers =)

Daaamon

Let me start by saying hello everyone, my name is Damon!
I recently became infatuated with cars, especially the Acura Integra.
I decided to research the car, and now i am interested in purchasing one.

I live in southern California, I've been researching Acura engines, transmissions, exhaust systems, intake manifolds, exhaust mainfolds, etc. After looking over things very carefully, I still have these few questions.

- Is it safe to buy a used Integra GSR, or an integra with a GSR swapped into it? Or would it be better to buy a teg stock, and pay for people to swap the GSR in at a shop. The thing is, I don't think my dad will have the cash to pay for it, as he is paying for most of the car as a graduation gift to me (C/o 2008 lol).

- What is a "block", "Head", and what is the difference between a straight pipe and a Cat-bacK? And which one of these exhaust systems would be the best if i have an Integra GSR, or a civic coupe or HB with a GSR swapped into it?
+ Greddy Evo II
+ Buddy Club 2
+ Skunk2

- When someone states a ratio (i.e ' 14:1:1'), what are they referring to? I think it has something to do with the piston compression or the camshafts or something? Please explain as thoroughly as you can, as i catch onto concepts quite easily.

- How will an intake mainfold and exhaust effect gas mileage, horsepower, and performance?

- What exactly IS horsepower (Sorry).

Thanks in advance for your replies guys, and if this is not the right subsection for this post, I will gladly remove and post in the appropriate section.

I will be checking the forum daily for updates.

Winki

Undercover mod
I decided to research the car, and now i am interested in purchasing one. (welcome)