Bottomed out, now my car makes a weird noise when i let off the accelerator

IxBZeRkxI

So I was going about 30-40MPH and failed to noticed a dip in the road ahead of me. car didn't die has no trouble starting, and seems to still ride smooth. check for any leaks, found none. but, i went on a test drive to make sure everything was okay, and i noticed a sound when i take my foot off the accelerator. it kinda sounds like somethings winding down(a little different from the sound its supposed to make while decelerating) and when i put the car in neutral the sound goes away, so i assume that rules out axles, a-arms, etc. but im no professional when it comes to hondas/acuras. i would just like to know what the sound might be and also what i should check next just to be sure my car is safe to be on the road. please, i really need some input on this cause i fear i may have done some damage.

Muckman

Not a M0derator
Probably an exhaust leak. Its the lowest part on the car and you probably hit it. Jack your car up and check it out.

IxBZeRkxI

U think that's it tho? I was gonna check struts and axles when I lift the car but I thought I should get someone else's advice before I get on the freeway with something gonna give way in the next few hundred miles. My first thought was that if there was damage it would've been immediate, but I figured I should get a second opinion on the matter. Cause the dip was pretty deep and the sound was absolutely horrid. But thx for your input, it's really appreciated

NemesisCBR

Boredest Member
Some things get loosened and then come apart later. First thing you should do is try to pinpoint where it contacted. Keep in mind one impact point could shift stress to another.

IxBZeRkxI