Our Website Family: TunerSports.com ClubCivic.com ClubIntegra.com
Attention Acura Integra Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or r

Welcome to ClubIntegra.com.

A forum dedicated to the Acura Integra, including all generations. In order to post on this forum you will have to register.

Registration is free and will entitle you to other site features including access to post your Acura Integra in the member's garage, join in raffles for performance parts, etc.

To start viewing messages by generation, select the Acura Integra forum that you want to visit from the list below. Or view all Acura Integra forums.

Go Back   ClubIntegra.com - Acura Integra Forum > Integra Generations Tech > 3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001)

Notices

Please SEARCH before posting a new thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->



How do I recharge my a/c?

3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2010, 11:05 PM   #16
Papa_Dios
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 45
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

also interested in this topic anyone have a write up?
Papa_Dios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 11:18 PM   #17
bcartwright88
Registered User
 
bcartwright88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 368
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGoddess View Post
Bcartwright88 - what pressures did you see with your system cycling? I think my '97 might have a blockage as it doesn't get near as cool as it used to. I don't think it has a leak because the clutch still cycles. This weekend I'm going to put some gauges on it. I just don't know what is normal high side vs low
My high side was at 410 at first, which was wayyy to high, I replaced the dryer and took out the expansion valve, used compressed nitrogen to blow out debris from the system and replaced it. got it down to about 320 psi, low side should be around 35-50. they even out when you shut your compressor down. be sure to put a fan in front of your condenser. If you do have a clog take it in to have serviced. i spent 4 hours under my dash ripping s*** out it was a huge sweaty pain in the ass. and i broke 34 bucks worth of ducting. Acura of Tulsa loves when i try to work on my teggy. lol.
bcartwright88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 11:00 PM   #18
Tman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jax
Posts: 14
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Thanks 88. I tried yesterday to test mine but my AC gauge manifold is leaking, the on/off valve for vac/freon is shot. I wound up just adding a can of 134. Its blowing cold now so I must have a slow leak somewhere. I don't see any oil anywhere so I'm guessing it is the evaporator.
Is it possible to see the evaporator without removing it. - There is a box with clips holding it together which must house the evaporatore and heater core?
Tman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 01:25 AM   #19
bcartwright88
Registered User
 
bcartwright88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 368
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tman View Post
Thanks 88. I tried yesterday to test mine but my AC gauge manifold is leaking, the on/off valve for vac/freon is shot. I wound up just adding a can of 134. Its blowing cold now so I must have a slow leak somewhere. I don't see any oil anywhere so I'm guessing it is the evaporator.
Is it possible to see the evaporator without removing it. - There is a box with clips holding it together which must house the evaporatore and heater core?
Yup. thats the box for the evaporate and heater core, You cant see it without taking it off, and its a big ol b**** to get back on bro. I ended up with a half full bag of parts when I took mine off to replace expansion valve. It ended up breaking coming out, so now its a gaint duct tape mess. each piece is 17 bucks at acura dealership. I highly doubt thats where your leak is at though, your condenser is prolly the enemy.
bcartwright88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 01:38 AM   #20
ixcocoyxi
RS owner
 
ixcocoyxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 619/858/760, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 7,721
 
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to ixcocoyxi
Default

start engine
run a/c on high
open hood
see that blue cap right behind the radiator? take that off, plug in the recharge kit, hold can upside-down, and depress the nozzle. while holding nozzle, tilt can back and fourth till empty. remove recharge kit and put the plug back on the car.
let the a/c run for 10-15 minutes and then shut off
throw can away, go inside, have a drink/take nap. and youre done.
__________________



//my integ thread//apex'i N1 sound test//facebook//photogazm//


stretch.poke.slam.tuck.dope
ixcocoyxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 01:48 AM   #21
jznsn2u
Senior Member
 
jznsn2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 384,403 kilometers from the moon/all around cali
Posts: 3,692
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcocoyxi View Post
start engine
run a/c on high
open hood
see that blue cap right behind the radiator? take that off, plug in the recharge kit, hold can upside-down, and depress the nozzle. while holding nozzle, tilt can back and fourth till empty. remove recharge kit and put the plug back on the car.
let the a/c run for 10-15 minutes and then shut off
throw can away, go inside, have a drink/take nap. and youre done.
dont forget to charge it into the low pressure line
__________________


For more updates on Hawaii's Car scene, Please my photography page!
https://www.facebook.com/JZNSN2UPHOTOGRAPHY

jznsn2u.tumblr.com
instagram @ jznsn2u


>MEAL OF THE DAY

> CEL - ECU/ABS CODES
jznsn2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 03:23 AM   #22
db1love
Registered User
 
db1love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 281
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

not tryin to steal your thread but how do i charge my r12, i was at pep boys and they have a retrofit kit, but the dude said that you cant put r134 in a r12 system, soo then i was like wat the hell is this kit for then and he dont know, haha, any input?
__________________


Aye Tommy!, your sail is limp, like your dick!
db1love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 03:46 AM   #23
bcartwright88
Registered User
 
bcartwright88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 368
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db1love View Post
not tryin to steal your thread but how do i charge my r12, i was at pep boys and they have a retrofit kit, but the dude said that you cant put r134 in a r12 system, soo then i was like wat the hell is this kit for then and he dont know, haha, any input?
I got some r-12 for sale in parts for sale section. Ill let it go cheap man.
bcartwright88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 03:51 AM   #24
Papa_Dios
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 45
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcocoyxi View Post
start engine
run a/c on high
open hood
see that blue cap right behind the radiator? take that off, plug in the recharge kit, hold can upside-down, and depress the nozzle. while holding nozzle, tilt can back and fourth till empty. remove recharge kit and put the plug back on the car.
let the a/c run for 10-15 minutes and then shut off
throw can away, go inside, have a drink/take nap. and youre done.

I <3 You...... NO ...
Papa_Dios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 04:28 AM   #25
db1love
Registered User
 
db1love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 281
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcartwright88 View Post
I got some r-12 for sale in parts for sale section. Ill let it go cheap man.
no s*** how much we talkin?? is it everything i need to charge it?? pm me, hella intrested!
__________________


Aye Tommy!, your sail is limp, like your dick!
db1love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 02:10 AM   #26
db1love
Registered User
 
db1love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 281
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

too muchh
__________________


Aye Tommy!, your sail is limp, like your dick!
db1love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:23 PM   #27
SpeedGoddess
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

So we drove it about 1 month since adding the last can of freon. It worked well enough that if the blower was on high it was bearable. It has been 100+ everyday! Just this weekend took the plunge and pulled the evaporator. It was clogged with ?/&%. It wouldn't clean up because the stuff was packed into the fins so I purchased a new evaporator and expansion valve. The new evaporator was no were near the same quality as a the original one.
Tonight Dad and I put in a new reciever/dryer and pulled it down with one of those pneumatic vacuum generators. We added about 1 once of pag100 to the dryer and pulled vac on it for .5 hour. Filled it with what should of been 24oz of Advance Auto freon. Also bought a set of the cheap gauges from Advance.
It wasn't making much cold air. Low side pressure was 40 and high side about 215. I added another can (12oz) and high side is up to 250, but still not blowing as cold as I think it should.
I'm not sure what to think - maybe I'm not getting all the freon into it - shouldn't the high side be at least 275?
Also there was styrofoam liner around the original evaporator - it had melted I guess from previous try to clean core with spray in chemical - so we left out that part.
Any ideas on what to do next? - Thanks
__________________
I love project cars.
SpeedGoddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 08:16 PM   #28
SOMD_GSR_STi
Flatout Performance
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Calvert County MD
Age: 26
Posts: 106
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

How cold do integras usually get because mine is blah haha
__________________
Owner - Flatout Performance
2002 Subaru WRX (RIP)
1997 Integra GSR (SOLD)
2003 Ford Mustang GT (New Toy)
2007 GMC Sierra Duramax (New Toy)

SOMD_GSR_STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 10:59 PM   #29
SexySSBP
Kwicherbichen
 
SexySSBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: MN
Age: 36
Posts: 1,450
 
iTrader: (6)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by db1love View Post
not tryin to steal your thread but how do i charge my r12, i was at pep boys and they have a retrofit kit, but the dude said that you cant put r134 in a r12 system, soo then i was like wat the hell is this kit for then and he dont know, haha, any input?
He's full of s***. Open hood, make sure nobody's looking. Depress valve stem looking thing on low pressure side till it stops hissing. Don't use your fingers cause you'll f***n freeze them solid. Once empty, recharge with r134...pat yourself on the back. I have done this on more vehicles... Don't forget the lube...
__________________
Sometimes, I pretend I am...."The Stig"...

My Build...Please click

SexySSBP is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to recharge my own R-12 air conditioning system? annauyt 2nd Generation Acura Integra (1990-1993) 12 06-09-2011 11:32 PM
ac recharge yangstaboi101 3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001) 3 06-08-2010 01:15 PM
A/c Recharge HKDxSAVIER 2nd Generation Acura Integra (1990-1993) 8 05-22-2010 08:21 PM
how to recharge ac? Myteg How To's 14 05-12-2010 12:39 AM
Problem with AC after recharge sleeperintegra All Motor / Drivetrain 3 08-14-2005 12:40 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:








Find this site helpful? Donations are appreciated.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
Forum SEO by Zoints