How To: Hypermile (Integra Specific)

TheIVJackal

Freedom through Jesus
I've done a lot of reading on Hypermiling online and watched many videos, but sense each car is a little different, I wanted to start a thread on Hypermiling with attention to the Integra. The EPA Estimates for my 1994 Integra GSR are as follows;
CITY: 22mpg
HIGHWAY: 28mpg
COMBINED: 24mpg
I have been recording my fuel purchases and MPG's since about August of 2010. I do this online through FuelEconomy.gov. About 50% City Driving and 50% Highway. My current combined average is 29mpg and my best ever was an all highway tank of 39.1mpg, worst ever tank 22.3mpg.

How I Drive
The way I drive when driving for maximum efficiency is to upshift at 2,000rpms, downshift when around 1,000rpms. It takes me about 3 seconds of acceleration to achieve 2,000rpms in gears 1 through 3, for gears 4 and 5, 4-5sec is more appropriate. If I know I have to stop, I coast in gear to the stop because the fuel injectors are turned off meaning I am not using any gasoline (Note: This is only true when RPMS are over 950rpms, or about 1,500 rpm's when cold. Below that, the ecu turns on injectors to avoid stalling out the vehicle). If its a red-light, I try to never stop on my way towards it as coming to a complete stop is the same as getting ZERO MPG. Ill do an occasional Pulse and Glide from 70mph to 50mph by accelerating to 70mph and the letting it coast in Neutral down to 50mph. From 50mph, it takes me about 16 seconds to get it back to 70mph before doing it again. If there is too much traffic, I drive in the slower lanes on the freeway and drive between about 60mph which according to my estimates is around 40mpg. When dealing with uphills, I do not depress my gas pedal more to continue at same speed as this burns more gas, I leave it at the same position and possibly downshift if hill is to steep. Example would be cruising at 60mph and upon start of climb, depending on grade of hill I may drop to as low as 50mph.