Our Website Family: TunerSports.com ClubCivic.com ClubIntegra.com
Attention Acura Integra Visitor:  Remove this block by logging in above or r

Welcome to ClubIntegra.com.

A forum dedicated to the Acura Integra, including all generations. In order to post on this forum you will have to register.

Registration is free and will entitle you to other site features including access to post your Acura Integra in the member's garage, join in raffles for performance parts, etc.

To start viewing messages by generation, select the Acura Integra forum that you want to visit from the list below. Or view all Acura Integra forums.

Go Back   ClubIntegra.com - Acura Integra Forum > Integra Generations Tech > 3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001)

Notices

Please SEARCH before posting a new thread. ->
Ready to Post a New Thread/Question? ->



tech help !!! timing my motor

3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 08:59 PM   #1
ITR-JDMVTECoso
Registered User
 
ITR-JDMVTECoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: broadway , VA
Posts: 71
 

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy tech help !!! timing my motor

I got gsr 99 engine spec : GSR HEAD p72 with stock cams , b18c1 block with JDM p73- 00 pistons , p72 type R rods , 87.2 type r crankshaft , ecu p72 gsr . i already done with all parts in my rebuild but The cars start but shaking very bad , i need help with timing my motor as soon possible will be super apreciated . , igot this code in my scaning , ECT CIRCUIT HIGH INPUT . I WAS THINKING MAYBE COULD BE THE TIME THE CAR WAS WITHOUT RUNING , LIKE THE GAS TANK HAD SOME WATER MIXED WITH MY TANK GAS AND CAR GOT MISS FIRE ???.

Last edited by ITR-JDMVTECoso; 02-26-2011 at 09:59 PM. Reason: ADD INFO
ITR-JDMVTECoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 11:00 PM   #2
joshuathewolf
Broke but no Joke
 
joshuathewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: savannah
Posts: 108
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

water in the tank?? get some fule injector cleaner and put it in the tank... evaporates the water.. cheap easy fix.. then you can tell if thats your problem or not... as for timing i humbly step aside for Google and those more experienced than I.
joshuathewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 11:35 PM   #3
Prozon
Kris
 
Prozon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,892
 
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Prozon
Default

Please take the time to spell out the words properly and put a little effort into punctuation. You will be more likely to recieve help if we can understand what you are trying to say.

First thing is first. Roll the engine over so that the timing marks line up on the crankshaft. Are the cams pointing to the correct timing marks? If your timing is on there, then check your firing order. Make sure that the spark plugs are on the cap correctly. You need to look up the firing order. I've seen people making the mistake of putting spark plug wires on with #1 on the cap going to cylinder #1, #2 going to #2, and so on.

If you had water in your gas tank, it's likely it wouldn't cause a misfire but most likely just wouldn't start on the water. If you suspect there to be a reason there would be water in your tank, pull the gas tank off the car and drain it. As for the engine code, i'm pretty sure the "ECT CIRCUIT HIGH INPUT" code pops up when the sensor is bad. Go buy a new one and let us know how it works. Oh and just so you know "ECT" stands for "Engine Coolant Temperature". I could be wrong on that part though.

You could run a search, or you could give us a little more information with a little bit better punctuation.
__________________
"How To" List - Have something to add to the list? PM me!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rexpepper123 View Post
I like my integras like i like my women... shaved!
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGstackadolla View Post
I'm calling the next thread to be a homemade turbo. A high-powered house fan, some conduit, and Epoxy. He's like a redneck MacGyver
Capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse.
Prozon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:05 AM   #4
ITR-JDMVTECoso
Registered User
 
ITR-JDMVTECoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: broadway , VA
Posts: 71
 

iTrader: (0)

Default Thanks i will do it in the morning i ley yall know if car get fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuathewolf View Post
water in the tank?? get some fule injector cleaner and put it in the tank... evaporates the water.. cheap easy fix.. then you can tell if thats your problem or not... as for timing i humbly step aside for Google and those more experienced than I.
ITR-JDMVTECoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:08 AM   #5
ITR-JDMVTECoso
Registered User
 
ITR-JDMVTECoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: broadway , VA
Posts: 71
 

iTrader: (0)

Default

Ya mean knock sensor at block ?? About timing i will check early in the morning all timing i let ya know if the car get fix and really sorry for my spell im puerto rican and im not very good with my english !!! Thanks 4 the help veeeery apreciated .
Quote:
Originally Posted by prozon View Post
please take the time to spell out the words properly and put a little effort into punctuation. You will be more likely to recieve help if we can understand what you are trying to say.

First thing is first. Roll the engine over so that the timing marks line up on the crankshaft. Are the cams pointing to the correct timing marks? If your timing is on there, then check your firing order. Make sure that the spark plugs are on the cap correctly. You need to look up the firing order. I've seen people making the mistake of putting spark plug wires on with #1 on the cap going to cylinder #1, #2 going to #2, and so on.

If you had water in your gas tank, it's likely it wouldn't cause a misfire but most likely just wouldn't start on the water. If you suspect there to be a reason there would be water in your tank, pull the gas tank off the car and drain it. As for the engine code, i'm pretty sure the "ect circuit high input" code pops up when the sensor is bad. Go buy a new one and let us know how it works. Oh and just so you know "ect" stands for "engine coolant temperature". I could be wrong on that part though.

You could run a search, or you could give us a little more information with a little bit better punctuation.
ITR-JDMVTECoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:27 AM   #6
Tam4511
CI BOOST FIEND
 
Tam4511's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age: 22
Posts: 2,894
 
iTrader: (3)

Tam4511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 03:22 AM   #7
x3dimples
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: california
Posts: 42
 
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to x3dimples
Default

check you tdc. your tdc is on the crank shaft pully it has a mark taht should line up with a arrow. take your spark plugs out. cycl 1 and 4 should be up and 2 3 should be down. cams should line up and both cams arrows should say up. and they should line up next to each other when both arrows point up. if you did it wrong you can bend your valves and have to redo it all over again. if it idles rough the set your idle higher. at 800 or 900 rpm.
that should help
x3dimples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:45 AM   #8
98sierra
Registered User
 
98sierra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 137
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

make sure your on the RIGHT tdc on the compression stroke and not on the intake stroke.. might have it 180
98sierra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 05:51 PM   #9
ITR-JDMVTECoso
Registered User
 
ITR-JDMVTECoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: broadway , VA
Posts: 71
 

iTrader: (0)

Question

thanks to all 4 the help cars start today had like !!! 5 gallons of water at gas tank!!! i guess someone hate me or just could be the time was just without use. About ect code i get today the temp send and receiver sensor and the coolant temperature sensor and now not check engine light is off . But start the car and i go 4,000 rpm and release the rev start going up and down like go up like 3,000 rpm and go down like 1,000 and dont stay at 1,000 rpm like supose to be . i heard maybe the problem its throttle body or maybe a sensor at intake . what you guys think??
ITR-JDMVTECoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 03:03 AM   #10
Prozon
Kris
 
Prozon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,892
 
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Prozon
Default

Five gallons of water? Seems a little hard to believe. Somebody most have it out for you lol.

Run a search for surging idle. It could be a vacuum leak or IACV or FITV causing the idle to go up and down.
__________________
"How To" List - Have something to add to the list? PM me!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rexpepper123 View Post
I like my integras like i like my women... shaved!
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGstackadolla View Post
I'm calling the next thread to be a homemade turbo. A high-powered house fan, some conduit, and Epoxy. He's like a redneck MacGyver
Capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse.
Prozon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 09:22 AM   #11
ITR-JDMVTECoso
Registered User
 
ITR-JDMVTECoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: broadway , VA
Posts: 71
 

iTrader: (0)

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prozon View Post
Five gallons of water? Seems a little hard to believe. Somebody most have it out for you lol.

Run a search for surging idle. It could be a vacuum leak or IACV or FITV causing the idle to go up and down.

i got to check all vacuum hoses at intake right?? thet ya mean?? explain me what it is IACV and FITV
ITR-JDMVTECoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:08 AM   #12
joshuathewolf
Broke but no Joke
 
joshuathewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: savannah
Posts: 108
 
iTrader: (0)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITR-JDMVTECoso View Post
i got to check all vacuum hoses at intake right?? thet ya mean?? explain me what it is IACV and FITV
GOOGLE.com is your friend my friend...
joshuathewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:43 AM   #13
Prozon
Kris
 
Prozon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 4,892
 
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Prozon
Default

http://www.team-integra.net/forum/di...g+Common+Topic
Read that.
__________________
"How To" List - Have something to add to the list? PM me!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rexpepper123 View Post
I like my integras like i like my women... shaved!
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGstackadolla View Post
I'm calling the next thread to be a homemade turbo. A high-powered house fan, some conduit, and Epoxy. He's like a redneck MacGyver
Capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse and helping your uncle jack off a horse.
Prozon is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing belt/timing gear/crank bolt issues jccammer1 2nd Generation Acura Integra (1990-1993) 12 02-04-2012 08:45 PM
TEIN H-TECH VS. TEIN S-TECH Lowering Springs 562Thomas Wheels / Tires / Suspension 5 03-26-2011 10:25 AM
All Motor-Drivetrain Info/Tech/Reviews Master Thread dc2GS-R All Motor / Drivetrain 2 09-14-2010 03:51 PM
timing belt broke need new motor... azspd02 3rd Generation Acura Integra (1994-2001) 7 07-22-2010 03:41 AM
TEIN'S S.Tech VS. H. Tech DA9DRVR Wheels / Tires / Suspension 14 10-19-2009 07:38 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Store News:

Latest Topics:


Store Specials:








Find this site helpful? Donations are appreciated.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
Forum SEO by Zoints