D.I.Y. Transmission dissassembly

Theasian

Ok So I decided to do a write up transmission is a LS. This D.I.Y is a walk through of how to split the case to access the inner workings of your trans.

I am a professional mechanic but this is something most everybody with enough patience can do themselves.

First you want a wide clean area to work on the trans. Clean to no working on it out in the sand pit.

Wrap the splines of the main shaft with electrical tape masking tape w.e tape just do it. It helps prevent damaging the main shaft seal.

Grab a block of wood and prop the transmission up on one side so the main shaft isnt smashing into the work surface area.

Pull your speed sensor out one 10mm bolt (sorry no pic of this step forgot to shoot it)

On the bottom of the trans there are two 12mm bolts remove each of these. These bolts hold the detente spring and balls

On the top side of the trans by the center bolt hole fore the transmission mount remove this bolt. It is the reverse shaft holder.

Now pull all the case bolts there are like 16 or 17 bolts that mate the clutch house casing with the gear house casing.

There is a bolt hidden behind this bracket remove the bracket

Now remove the half in square on the very top of the case. Inside here is the retention ring on the top of the counter shaft. Perfect time for a nice pair of ring splitter. If you dont have access to those a nice fat blade flat head screw driver i will work. Or use two screw driver together to spread the prongs apart.

After the ring is spread the counter shaft will fall

Now take a dead blow hammer and hit the gear house casing all around lots of smacking makes the job easier. Use a pry bar at the boss nice prying surface.

You may have to work it a bit once it pops up the case should separate pretty easy

Removing the internals

Wear gloves if ya dont want transmission poo all up on ya. Its a pain to get off.