How to install AEM SRI (super easy)

sonicvybe

new driver
How to install AEM SRI (super easy)

I did this a while back. It was my first modification to the car. Knowing nearly nothing you can almost figure this out - however I still made a write up on for the absolute beginner. This is usually the first mod that people do because it’s one of the easiest.

Simply put, an air intake (short ram/cold air) will allow your car to breath better. The following install was a short ram intake for a 1998 Honda Integra SiR-G > replacing the stock intake. All you need to do is remove the original intake and secure the new one in place. The pictures below should tell you enough.

Prep work

1. Take off the front strut bar so you have room to work. It should be 2 screws on each side holding down the black bar that goes across your engine bay. This bar is for chassis stability and I think it's on GSR + Type R. Dunno if other models have it.

2. Disconnect the battery terminal? Optional - I leave the battery alone all together. I’m more likely to get shocked while disconnecting it. hahah

3. Screw driver. Wrachet + Sockets. Plyers to yank the tubing off.

4. Let the car cool for 30 minutes at least if you drove it recently. Don’t work while the engine bay is hot.

Instructions

1. Take off the stock intake cover box.

2. Slide out the old stock intake. Mine was fairly new still, so I kept it.

3. Remove the bottom half of the intake box cover. This is to make room for the new intake which doesn’t quite fit in the box.

4. Loosen the straps that hold the old intake tube onto the rest of engine. It might be a little tight so flex those muscles. Also yank out the breather nipple thingy where the small tube is connected.

5. The old intake tube comes right out!

6. Slide on the PVC looking mario brothers pipe thing and both metal straps loosely to the new intake.

7. Put it back on just like how you took off the old intake. Don’t tighten up the straps yet.