Compression loss after overheating?

Carl7051

Hello all,

I am new to Clubintegra.com and have really enjoyed all of the albums, knowledge and discussions that I have read thus far.

I am posting this thread because I am in a pickle. To start, I have what I would call, little knowledge on imports and the inner-goings on of motors. I have some knowledge, but not enough to fix my problem.

I have a 94 RS with a 1.8L B18B1. I was driving home one cold evening and the temp went up. Knowing that you should never drive a hot vehicle and the inability to get a tow truck at the late hour, I waited until it cooled and finished my journey home (about 10 minutes of driving after an hour or so letting it cool). the next day I ensured that it was full of coolant/water and I checked for leaks. I also changed the thermo. I drove it to work and again, it overheated. Same story, I waited for it to cool and tried to drive it home, but it wouldn't start. I called a tow truck and had it delivered to my house.

I found that the water pump had broken into 3 pieces and the breaking of the water pump snapped my timing belt (I imagine that the pump seized and when it did, it snapped the timing belt). Threw another water pump and belt on it, and after figuring out some timing issues, it fired right up.