what is a fair price to paint a front lip?

fever927

Got a type-R style front lip from ebay for 95$. ..

I don't have a garage so I don't want to do the painting myself, plus i have never done any painting job myself before.. So I went to this bodyshop this morning and asked them to paint the front lip AND my side skirts. The owner said he really doesn't like dealing with the side skirts' materials (plastic?). So he refused to paint the side skirts for me. And for the front lip, he estimated the price, total is 271.73$. I thought it's a bit pricey so I told him I will think about it first...here is the detail of the estimation:

Perp-Spoiler 0.5hr $18.00 for Parts
color match 0.3hr
paint 1.0hr $36.00
clear coat .05hr $18.00
Flex Additive $5.00$
labor $80/hr X 2.3=$184.00 + paint materials 77.00$ + CA Tax 6.73 = $271.73

Does that sound fair to you guys? I think this is pretty expensive for a front lip.how much do you think the cost for painting both front lip and side skirts?. By the way the shop is at Davis, CA...

Tam4511

CI BOOST FIEND
Take it to maaco lol

Thats waaay to much for a lip, my friend can paint a bumper for 100

LSiNtegraDB7

I enjoy Integras.
I have the perfect website for you. Here. It's someones archived process/diy on painting their lip kit for an Integra. You can buy color matched spray paint from automotivetouchup.com. $20 a can. Good luck :thumbs up

TegSox

Super Duper Moderator
$271 seems a little on the high side, but if it's good work it's worth it, but of course you won't know that until after the fact, heh. If your even gonna get the sideskirts painted, it'll be cheaper to have the lip and skirts painted all at once instead of separatley.

whitedc4