Exhaust Rattle at Idle

bvans

DC5-ED9
So I've been searching for it on both google and the forums here,
and all I could find was the notorious exhaust rattle at around 3k RPM

I have a rattle at ONLY idle, what could this be? It's driving me crazyyy.
It used to be only sometimes, about once every two or three times I drove. Then I went over a slope to get to my doctor and my whole undercarriage scraped.. Now it's a constant rattle at idle.
What should I be lookin for to stop the dang rattle?

bvans

DC5-ED9
Not sure if this would help but, I have a flowmaster muffler, aftermarket polished headers & piping, and a cat.
Also, a skunk2 short shifter, not sure if this would cause a problem..

BankiBoi

one day i back my tail pipe into something and it rattled bc the thing that held on broke but if its lose it will do that and u can go to any auto store and get a hanger to see if that helps

mirrorimg

Its probably one of your heatshields.

Turn the car on, walk around and poke your head under there to locate the source. This should be pretty straight forward. Since you have an aftermarket header, you don't have a heatshield there. You still have one above the catalytic converter, and that's probably the cause. There may be some a little further back, but I wouldn't know as I don't have any on my car.

Prozon

Kris
I agree with Jason. It is probably your heat shields.
If the cat is an old one, it may have broken up inside. I've had a catalytic converter fall apart on the inside and rattle at idle.

cre-asian1