Fuel spewing from headers! HELP!

travistrouble

I'm having a lot of problems with me and my wifes integra. It's a 98 LS automatic. It's been smoking white out of the exhaust and the smell is of fuel. Under the hood you can see fuel bubble and drip out where the headers meet the block.

The codes that come up when scanned is P1790 and P0700. The previous owner cut the lines leading to the TPS for whatever reason and they're now just electrical taped over the 3 wires. I replaced the TPS a few weeks ago but didn't have it calibrated (I'm still a noob when it comes to mechanical work).

My wife was stubborn and drove the car to work today even though the fuel spilling just started this morning so I'm worried that it could catch on fire.

Please any help with this would be awesome!

travistrouble

I'm wondering if the TPS has a poor connection, could it dump too much fuel into the cylinders? And with it being too much fuel it would leak out of them to escape instead of burning?

And if that were too happen, would that mean the seals are shot?

You guys are the smart ones, I have no idea what is going on with it

mjones73

You really need to fix the wiring to the TPS and calibrate it first.

Still for the motor to be dumping that much gas I'd wonder if you have an injector stuck open...

mirrorimg

I highly doubt it is fuel. It certainly wouldnt bubble out like that where the header meets the head, there is a gasket there to seal the flange.

I would agree that the the TPS issue should be the first thing thats corrected.

Last edited:

travistrouble

I've been out so i'm just now getting your replies. After my wife got off I rode with her in the car to see how it drove and it didn't smoke or anything that it was doing earlier this morning. We drive to Advance Auto Parts to get some butt connectors to fix the TPS wiring and an old guy outside says it looks like it is leaking antifreeze not fuel and that the thermostat is stuck open.