How To: change alternator the alternative/easy way

pinkley

b@115D33p
Ive seen a few people posting asking about changing/replacing an alternator. When I was a noob Integra owner I was flustered because no matter which way I tied turning the alternator I couldn't get it out from top or bottom. So I tried this and it worked for me.

I AM NOT A MECHANIC! SO IF YOU MESS SOMETHING UP DON'T COME CRYING TO ME!!!

First thing unbolt the positive side of the battery!!!

Jack up your car

unhook the sensor wires going to the brake fluid reservoir

Then unbolt the 2 12mm bolts that hold the reservoir on

After you get them unbolted the reservoir will pull off but don't loose the rubber gasket on the end of it

It will pull to the side like so...

Now you have this big hole to work the alternator out of.

Now unbolt the power wire on the top the the alternator and the green plug on the side.

After you get it all unplugged you can start unbolting the alternator
Top is a 12mm and bottom is a 17mm

After you get it all unbolted give it a wiggle wiggle wiggle wiggle and it will come out.

Then when you put the new one in follow the instructions in reverse.

This is ideal to do if you don't feel like pulling the rim off and pulling the dr side axle out.
Hope this helps some people.

stillhere153

HondEducated
yo my man good post, my alternator literally took a sh!t last night, battery died on my way to work twice lol thank god for stick shift

I will be using this write up this afternoon

pinkley

b@115D33p
dont you have to rebleed your brake system?
Nope! No fluid runs through the actual booster. Just the vacume pressure. After you get it all put back together, start the car and pump the brakes a few times to rebuild pressure in the booster. No fluid drains out at all.

pinkley

b@115D33p
yo my man good post, my alternator literally took a sh!t last night, battery died on my way to work twice lol thank god for stick shift

I will be using this write up this afternoon