Lowering springs, need shocks too?

covert_Con

Senior Ricer
I'm new to the import scene, but not cars in general. If I buy just lowering springs will that suffice or will I need to get aftermarket shocks and cambers to? The factory suspension in my teg is still good, I just want to lower it.

ryanDC

you will need new struts or your stock ones will blow and camber kits aren't necessary

pepsihatman

you will need new struts or your stock ones will blow and camber kits aren't necessary
Can you elaborate more on the lack of a need for a camber kit? I am currently looking at the Tokico illuminas for stock DC2 suspension replacement (link below). I was worried about tire wear with the 1.5 inch drop. I would get the car aligned after installing the kit. Can the factory suspension compensate appropriately for the lowering (1.5 inches I believe)? No camber or toe issues?

Also, any stickies on the subject? I think that both convert_Con - OP and I would benefit. I'll read, but I couldn't find what I needed to know via search.

http://www.amazon.com/Tokico-ILK202-Handling-Susp-Kits/dp/B000NU4KQW/ref=au_pf_pfg_s?ie=UTF8&Model=Integra|742&n=15684181&s=automotive&Make=Acura|58&Year=1998|1998&newCar=1&carId=002

Edit - Just noticed date. Resurrection! Anyone want to answer?

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'
Can you elaborate more on the lack of a need for a camber kit? I am currently looking at the Tokico illuminas for stock DC2 suspension replacement (link below). I was worried about tire wear with the 1.5 inch drop. I would get the car aligned after installing the kit. Can the factory suspension compensate appropriately for the lowering (1.5 inches I believe)? No camber or toe issues?

Also, any stickies on the subject? I think that both convert_Con - OP and I would benefit. I'll read, but I couldn't find what I needed to know via search.