New car . New driver . Need some questions answered plzz

lev8177

Hey guys. Im just learning to drive manual tranny on my 96 teg b18b.

Was just wondering when i start my car it bounces from 1k-1.5 rpm then stops after a while. Is this normal? Im guessing the engine just needs to warm up. Need to make sure.

Also when i start from a dead stop in 1st the car either takes off really fast (spinning) 3k rpms. Can someone explain how to start the car ? Or chokes .. I cant find the word to explain. But u know what i mean.
I hardly tap on the gas, its hard to rev 1.5-2. Its so sensitive

I know im also burning the clutch in 1st revving up to 3.5k taking off.. Im slowly letting off the clutch or else it just takes off really fast. About 4 secs til fully released.
Is that okay for the first couple of tries? Im worried its a major issue wearing out my new clutch. I can smell it afterwards. The clutch can handle that abuse ?

After 1st theres no problem at all

Thanks for your time !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ganyon

Just keep practicing. The idle thing sounds normal. As long as it drops to around 750 when its warmed up, I wouldn't worry about it.

lev8177

Yea the idle drops to 1k. But what im worried bout is burning my clutch

lev8177

I just got a brand new exedy replacement. Maybe im exaggerating but i smell something burnt. Just need to be reinsured that it can take that abuse or not

Ganyon

Can you let it out any faster without stalling? I learned on a bmw we used to have and it took me about 3 months to finally figure it out. Granted I only drove it about an hour a week.

Ryan659