Rust spots & heater problems

Inuyash274

Self Taught Noob
I was gifted a 93 Acura Integra SE by my girlfriend. The car is in great condition, it runs perfectly! It just looks like a piece of crap. When she gave it to me, she told me that it was a fixer upper (which I was happy with). I really want to fix this car up and make it a beauty to drive around.

Problems:
There are 6 rust spots, one on the trunk, one on the hood (ill just get a new hood or something) and the rest are near/ over the back tires. I HAVE NOT checked under the car yet.
The heater doesnt work. My gf was under the impression it was the blower, but when she tried to turn the switch it fought us to turn. But all the buttons light up. So it could either be the switch or the blower motor?

These are the only problems with the car I can see so far. If any one has ANY ideas on how to fix the rust and heater, I would be very grateful. Below I have pics of the car that I uploaded to my imgur account.

http://imgur.com/a/65Sbt

Inuyash274

Self Taught Noob
here is an update. I went out to the car and pressed all the heater buttons and turned the knob. You can hear clicking inside of the dash (and all the knobs buttons light up). To me, it sounds like the heater motor is trying to start. If you put your hand up to the vents you feel nothing. I'm sure this information will help someone to know what the problem MIGHT be.

I looked under the car, there isn't any rust under the wheels. So it just appears to be on the exterior of the body (good sign).

djzachtyler

Looking for my next Teg..
be a great lil project for sure!!! Love seeing folks take in a DA and fixerup...

the rust looks to be surface rust so may be easier to get rid of. otherwise you are looking at alot of grinding, cutting and welding.