Timing Belt and Dust cover

Inuyash274

Self Taught Noob
I recently just changed the clutch in my Integra LS. While I did this I also replaced my valve cover gasket.

While I was messing around in the engine, I noticed that the upper portion of the timing belt dust cover was digging into the Timing belt. I guess this has happened due to age that the dust cover has become warped. I cut away as much of the dust cover as I could to make sure it wasn't hitting the camshaft timing gears.

I also noticed that while the engine is running, the timing belt has some play. Now, correct me if I am wrong, but when I think of the timing belt on a car I imagine it as a tight belt that is wrapped on top of gears.

Is this normal? Or should I replace the timing belt?

*side note

When or if I replace this timing belt, should I entirely remove the dust cover, expose the belt and gears and cut off the portion of the valve cover that is over top the timing belt? I have seen racers do this, and I am wondering if this is the route I should venture.

I don't recommend going without timing covers, especially if this is your daily driver. Are the covers warped or did the rubber seals get swollen due to an oil leak and push the covers?
There should be some slack on the belt on the front side of the motor. If there is slack on the tensioner side there may be a problem.
Timing belts should be replaced every 7 years or around 100k miles.

Inuyash274

Self Taught Noob
They are warped. the cover has gone from being black to a browish color. My grandfather (who was on hand helping me with the car) later said that he didn't see a presence where oil was leaking at any time from the cam seals.

I will check that again.

Inuyash274

Self Taught Noob
Thank you for the information about the timing belt. I don't believe it has slack on the rear side of it. I believe that was pretty tight.