worn syncros, rebuild tranny or tranny swap?

wargamedt

Hey guys, I'm new to Club Integra and I have a quick question. Going into 2nd and 3rd gear, I get a really bad grinding noise at anything above 3k rpm. After 3rd gear, no matter what rpm I'm at, it shifts smooth. I was told by multiple tranny shops that my syncros were bad and that I would either have to rebuild the tranny or get a used one elsewhere. I'm on a limited budget so I'm trying to see the cheapest way to get it fixed, even if it's not the most reliable way. Most price quotes for rebuilding the tranny were about 800-1k. On the other hand, the local junkyard sells standard trannies for 130 and I have a mechanic willing to install for 200. Also I have a b18b1 in my 91 integra so would I need a tranny for 91 or 97 integra? Please let me know what would be my best option and what tranny I would need to get. I appreciate the help :D

tegy1

my tranny does the same... but i would go to the junk yard... make sure you get a tranny that is cable clutch unless your car is hydro witch its not unless its been converted..

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'
i would try and find a b16 cable tranmission,

BUT!!!!!!

the first question is: Do you have a hydrolic transmission or a cable transmission? If you have cable i would source a Cable B16 tranny or another transmission from the junk yard.

If you have a hydro, might as well do the same a b16 or a gsr tranmission swap.

Kuchtaboy

Unregistered User
a grand to rebuild transmissons? damn... I should start doing that on the side....

I agree tho, you should look for a shorter geared trans and gain some performance out of it. I THINK (think) the B17 trans is like a B16 with a higher 4th and 5th? I dont remember. a friend of mine has one in his DA and it pulls pretty decent with a B20 on it.

Prozon

Kris
That helps, but when my third gear synchro was going bad double clutching wouldnt always save the grind.