89 D16A1 swap to B18B1

xdreem

i just got my first Acura Integra about 4 months ago and have so many ideas how i want to clean it up. ive talked to few ppl and they say a B18B would work great in this car. i have never done a motor swap before. what do i need to know to make this engine work and fit in the 1989 Acura Integra? (note: i also want to have turbo)

enoch723

First off.. everyone says a b18 swap works best but in reality it isnt always the best fit for the car. In the G1 the b20 actually makes a better swap with the increase in torque.

The biggest things you have to know about the G1 is it has torsion bars in the front and arent ideal with a swap of any kind and has one of the biggest followings when it comes to classic honda's. A lot of people that like the G1 will frown about a swap sometimes. I happen to think its awesome to do a swap but the d16a1 is a sleeping beast a lot of people underestimate. Thing can take 6-10lbs easy and hold up for years.

As for what you will need to do for just about any swap in any car is new mounts, cv axles, custom shift linkage(sometimes), ecu and wiring harness.. Most the time its not worth it especially in the G1 cause your going to be restricted from really having fun with the torsion bars in the front.

What I would suggest is get a 3g civic(83-87) Like I did and take the d16a1 out of your integra and drop it in the civic. Dont need new mounts or shift linkage. Really all you have to do is drop it in and hook up the new wiring harness and your good to go.

xdreem

First off.. everyone says a b18 swap works best but in reality it isnt always the best fit for the car. In the G1 the b20 actually makes a better swap with the increase in torque.