How do I check my distributor coil?

InvaderGIR

Ok, so yesterday I was driving to the store, and I was shifting from third to fourth when I heard a noise come from the engine bay. After the noise, I gave it throttle and it would rev a little bit but wouldn't accelerate, then when I got to 5-10 mph the car just shut off, and now won't crank back up. When I turn the key to on, I can hear the fuel pump priming, and it turns over, and I can hear it trying to fire up, but still no crank. I've been told by several people, to check the distributor coil, but I just want to make sure I'm doing it correctly since I've never done any kind of repair like this before. So how do I do this exactly? Thanks in advance for the help!!!
BTW, I just fixed all top end oil leaks on this damn car before this happened. I'm wondering if maybe that could've caused a malfunction since Honda's love to leak oil. LOL! :x

**Girl Loves Car**

DonJulio

Reppin' tha NW
The simplest way is to remove the distributor and swap in a working one.

You have to open up the distributor cap to access the coil. Either way, they're both quite easy to replace.

Some fixes are as easy as tightening the crimped connections on the distributor harness that connects to the coil. Some have been found loose.

InvaderGIR

Sorry in advance for the lack of knowledge as far as terminology goes, but I took the cap off and there's another cover with a wheel looking thing.... I remove that too correct? If so, how? I don't want to break that wheel thing....lol wow it's been so long since I've worked on cars. Definitely not like riding a bike....

**Girl Loves Car**

DCiFound

SEAHAWKS!!