Hang on or move on?

Torn

Hi all. On the advice of an experienced member, I'm reposting this from the newbie thread. And adding a bit.

I am brand new to this site, and glad I found it. I plan to explore the site fully. But for now at least want to introduce myself and my dilema. I've been driving a '95 Integra for the past 15 years. I think it's an LS (I honestly can't remember the trim for sure, but know it's not a VTEC). I love the car, but it's getting old. A few weeks ago the AC belt tensioner (also controls the power steering and alternator belts) fell out of the car while I was driving a major highway. Like any 16-year old car, mine has had it's share of issues in the past (tail pipes, alternater, starter, rust...). But this was a little different, even though it turned out to be an easy fix. It got me thinking, is it finally time to buy a new car?

Trouble is, I love my Integra. As near as I can tell, the Integra was the best car ever built - light, quick, versatile, etc. I'm sure I don't need to recite all of its virtues for this club! I love driving the car. And it has performed incredibly well for me. I don't want to let it go. To make matters worse, I can't find any car on the market today that can match the Integra in weight, mpg, performance, and cargo space.

The thought entered my head to have the Integra rebuilt, maybe even drop a GSR engine into it. But, as some of my friends have reminded me, it would be a bit odd (and perhaps perverted) to sink that kind of money into a car this old. In fact, one conversation I've had about giving the car new life brought up Stephen King's Pet Semetary --- that didn't work out very well, and now I can't get the Ramones song out of my head.

In any event, I want to talk to a mechanic who could tell me what challenges I might be facing if I choose to rebuild, and maybe find someone who could do the work should that be my path. I'm near Philadelphia, PA. If anyone has any advice, I would surely appreciate it.