high or low compression w/ turbo?

IntegraImport01

hey i have a B18a1 that i have to build off of....and i wanted to kno wut was better for a turbo kit.....high or low compression pistons?...im still a rookie to the scene.....just tryn to get all the knowledge possible so i can kno wut iam doin.....thanxs

:drive:

Last edited:

TegSox

Super Duper Moderator
Fortunatley I'll be the first to answer your post so I can fend off the impending incorrect info that would have for sure come your way. That misinformation being: High compression engines are not good for boosting. It's a very common misconception about turbo's that you hear spouted all over internet boards, among friends, ect...
A turbo can function just fine with high or low compression pistons...its all about the tuning. You can benefit from all the advantages that higher compression provides and still boost if you tune your air/fuel, ignition timing, ect. correctly.

IntegraImport01

TegSox said:
Fortunatley I'll be the first to answer your post so I can fend off the impending incorrect info that would have for sure come your way. That misinformation being: High compression engines are not good for boosting. It's a very common misconception about turbo's that you hear spouted all over internet boards, among friends, ect...
A turbo can function just fine with high or low compression pistons...its all about the tuning. You can benefit from all the advantages that higher compression provides and still boost if you tune your air/fuel, ignition timing, ect. correctly.
So since i have a B18a1 that iam going to boost at 8psi with a kit that is safe on stock internals....i was planing on upgrading my fuel and ignition anyways....so ur sayin that i could go with high compresion pistons?....PS i am goin to build my top end a little also.

TegSox

Super Duper Moderator