How-To/DIY: Install A TDM Tri-Y 4-2-1 Performance Header & Omnipower 3-pc Testpipe

scraping_DB

In this How-To/DIY guide, I will show you a visual presentation of “How to install an aftermarket TDM Tri-Y 4-2-1 performance header & Omnipower 3-piece adjustable test pipe on a Acura Integra B-Series motor. In this particular How-To/DIY, the performance header was installed on a stock B18B1 LS motor with a Greddy SP1 cat-back exhaust system. Keep in mind, this performance header is meant for track usage so the piping is a lot longer than the OEM header. The test pipe is also track use only because it removes the catalytic converter altogether. So check your state’s regulation on these performance modifications because these are definitely not legal in California. :p

Okay let’s begin!

Disclaimer

All the How-To/DIY guides present on this website are for information-purposes only. I am not a professional and am not responsible for injury to you, your vehicle, or anyone/thing else if you choose to follow any of the How-To/DIY guides.

First thing first; SAFETY FIRST! Have the car properly lifted and supported with jack stands & scissor jacks

Here is the performance exhaust setup I acquired to match up with my discontinued Greddy SP1 cat-back exhaust system. You can see how the parts can be parted out into separate, smaller pieces. The header was indeed damaged on the bottom so it has no problem slipping on to become one piece but because it cannot be bolted together, there will be an exhaust leak.

Step 1: Remove the oil dipstick, the three 12mm bolts off the heat shield and one 14mm bolt on the bottom.

Step 2: With the heat shield & oil dip stick removed, loosen-only the nine 12mm bolts on the header. Start with the outer locking nuts then inward.

Step 3: Remove the splash guard.