chipped ecu?

rivman05

Hi,
Ive got a 94 LS coupe. Im wondering if anyone here has messed around with chipped ecu's at all as Im thinking of getting one to use for fuel and ignition control for a mild build. Im just curious, what folks have tried and had good results with as Im extremely new to doing this kind of work. Thanks, if its spam, please point me to a place that can help.

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'
I went t hrough pheable dot net for my basemapped ecu. Their soldering sucked. out of the 28 pin chip connector one is used to talk to the actual computer, that one is often not soldered in properly which makes connecting a hondata to the computer quite difficult at times. I suggest calling a tuner to see if they have a soldering service and if they can tune/have a license of the hondata system

njhustler

So "chipped ecu's" are no good?. I have a 95 gsr and I was considering this to be my next mod. This is my work car so I intend on keeping my stock ecu for gas mileage. Car has bolt on's and I would like to get a little more out of it for weekend play.

rivman05

Ok, I looked at the xenocron site as well. I live in Rural Alaska 330 days out of the year now, and go to eastern Washington for the remainder. I new to the whole efi world as my newest car was a 78 eldorado, the tuning I need is just for a cai and full exhaust. Can the stock ecu's get retuned? If so I wouldn't have to go chipped I guess. Thanks for the help. Any other advice, I have considered a true piggy back. Are Hondata s100/200 any good?

Last edited:

rivman05

Anyone any thoughts? I plan on it getting tuned but wondering what chips folks were using. Ive heard both good and bad things about phearable.net chipped ecu's, but I just need it to be socketed as theres a hondata tuner not too far from my dads house. Anyone know folks who would socket ecu's?

Samurai_Blue

Yolo Whippin'