forged internals help!

FanegedWolf3

hey guys! i have a 96 teg RS and i wanta turbo that bad to. my first step engine wise is to rebuild the block. and i am new to this stuff and i am trying to learn i did some searching and i could not find a guide about this topic the pros and cons cost ext. all i know is that this is a really good rout when you turbo a Integra. the motor has 176xxx miles on it so if this is done should i be good with out blowing the engine up?

thanks for your help/ PLEASE TELL ME IF I AM WRONG ABOUT SOME THING! i am new to all of this and just trying to learn also is there any tips you guys have on my project?

1996 integra rs B18b1
stock everything with exception of the cold air intake and full cat back exhausted system
i wanta build this car in to a auto cross car/road race/daylie driver.

Last edited:

White_Rabbit

b18b1 blocks are cheap to come by. I would pick up a short block or maybe even a long block if you get a good deal. Then put a set of rods and pistons in it that way you have less downtime when you pull your motor. Just pull your motor slap your head on it and you're good to go. Way less downtime. Also I would recommend boring your block .20 over. Its not so much of a power upgrade but it really helps clean up the cylinder walls and ensures you have a good round surface.

When you have any machine work done they're going to want the pistons. Thats why I say get you a spare block cheap. Take your rods and pistons to the machine shop and let them bore it and install them. It wont run you very much at all and you'll be way happier in the long run. Titanmotorsports was running a good deal for a rod/pistons combo. They still might be. I can also get you rods and or pistons if you're interested. Hit me up at Rabbit@TopEndUSA.com I also have a set of civic type R pistons bored .20 over brand new in the box i'm letting go cheap. Although they are prolly a lil high compression for a boosted motor.

Good luck keep us updated.

FanegedWolf3